top of page


Branches of the U.S. Armed Forces

The U.S. Armed Forces are made up of the six military branches: Army, Marine Corps, Navy, Air Force, Space Force, and Coast Guard. The President of the United States is the Commander in Chief, and is responsible for all final decisions. The Secretary of the Department of Defense (DoD) has control over all branches of the military except the Coast Guard, which is under the Dept. of Homeland Security.

There are three general categories of military personnel:

  • Active Duty
  • Reserve and Guard Forces
  • Veterans and Retirees

Army and Army Reserve is the dominant land power. They generally move into an area, secure it and instill order before they leave. The Army also guards U.S. installations and properties around the world.

Army National Guard is an elite group of warriors who dedicate a portion of their time to serving their nation. It is the only branch of the military whose existence is actually required by the Constitution.

Marine Corps and Marine Corps Reserve is known as the U.S.' rapid-reaction force. They are trained to fight by land and sea. They are usualy the first "boots on the ground" and are know as the world's fiercest warriors.

Navy and Navy Reserve accomplishes missions primarily by sea, but also by air and land. It secures and protects the oceans around the world to create peace and stability, making the seas safe for travel and trade.

Air Force and Air Force Reserve is our nation's source of air and space power.

Air National Guard is a separate reserve component of the United States Air Force.

Space Force was founded on December 20, 2019 and is the newest branch of the U.S. Armed Forces.. It is the world's first independent space force.

Coast Guard and Coast Guard Reserve protect our waterways. They do rescues, law enforcement, drug prevention, and clear waterways.

bottom of page